Welcome to Our Community

Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Itoo Forest apck 6.1

Discussion in 'Help' started by Archim, Jan 30, 2019.

  1. Archim

    Archim Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hey All, i recently downloaded the itoo forest pack pro for 3ds max 2018. Works great but i wonder how i can add multiple library objects to one mesh. For example, when i add a new item and then go into the library and choose the "bermuda grass plant" preset from Vizpark, it gets scattered on the mesh. Now if i click "add new item" and again go to the library, choose for example a grass preset, it overwrites the first preset completely.

    What am i doing wrong?

    Thanks for any help
     
  2. roocoon

    roocoon Well-Known Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,496
    Likes Received:
    389
    Draw some splines on the mesh and use them as scatter areas. Or something similar.
     
    Archim likes this.
  3. DmitriiP

    DmitriiP Member
    Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    3
  4. Archim

    Archim Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thanks roocoon it works
     
  5. Andy47

    Andy47 Well-Known Member
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3,084
    Likes Received:
    416
    Use multiple FP objects, with the same surface or spline. That way if you want a few tree, some plants and some grass, you create three FP objects all using the same surface or spline, but you can control density, transforms etc, for each individually. Yuo can have dozens of FP objects al using the same surface or closed spline area. Note, if using spline areas and you have say three of them, they must al be planar in the Z direction and al at the same height.. ONLY mesh surfaces allow you to have slopes

    When you want to scatter several objects, but have different settings for each, say a few trees but lots of grass.. Create the surface on which you wish to scatter stuff, create the first FP object and choose the mesh , choose the objects from your library, say a couple of trees and they will be scattered on it.. Now create a second FP object, select the same mesh, choose some grass from the library and that too will be scattered on the surface.. You can now adjust the setting for the trees and grass, separately.
     
    Archim likes this.
  6. Archim

    Archim Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2017
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    7
    Thank you a lot. I think my main problem was that i used Presets and not just single objects. It seems that a preset overwrites a previous added object or preset but using single objects and creating own settings works as intended. I did a workaround to use multiple presets by just adding multiple FP instances. I slowly work may way trough this awesome plugin.